Syllabus for Civil Procedure
Fall 2019


The class policies are located here.

1) This syllabus is provisional only! There may be changes made in the reading throughout the semester.  

2) You should make use of the links to the specific Federal Rules and statutory and constitutional provisions that are provided in this syllabus (and on the webpage for the course) when reading these materials for class, because these links give you an edited version that excludes unrelated and unassigned material.

 

The casebook for the course is Glannon, Perlman, Raven-Hasen (GPR), Civil Procedure: A Coursebook (3rd ed. 2017)

 

Mon. Aug. 26

Introduction to Civil Procedure

Introduction to Subject Matter Jurisdiction

GPR pp. 3-19

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Aug. 27

The Progress of a Civil Suit

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction: Domicile

GPR 21-38, 41-52

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Aug. 28

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction: The Complete Diversity Requirement

GPR pp. 52-59

U.S. Const. Art. III, 2, cl. 1; 28 U.S.C. 1332

PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Sept. 2

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction: Corporations and Unincorporated Associations and the Amount in Controversy Requirement

GPR pp. 59-82

28 U.S.C. 1332(c)(1)

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Sept. 3

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction.: Aggregation 

Federal Question Subject Matter Jurisdiction 

GPR pp. 82-102

U.S. Const. Art. III, 2, cl. 1; 28 U.S.C. 1331

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Sept. 4

Federal Question Subject Matter Jurisdiction Cont.

GPR 102-125

PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Sept. 9

Removal

GPR 127-144

28 U.S.C. 1441(a)-(b), (f) 

28 U.S.C. 1446(c)(2)
28 U.S.C. 1446(a)-(d)

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Sept. 10

Personal Jurisdiction - Pennoyer Framework
GPR 147-161
U.S. Const. Amend. XIV 1 and Art IV, 1; 28 U.S.C. 1738
PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Sept. 11

Pennoyer Framework Cont.

GPR 161-64

First Restatement on Pennoyer
Second Restatement on In Personam, In Rem and Quasi In Rem
PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Sept. 16

Int'l Shoe & Specific Personal Jurisdiction: McGee

GPR 164-84

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Sept. 17

Specific PJ: Out-of-State Activities with In-State Effects

GPR 184-205

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Sept. 18

Specific PJ.: Contract and Stream-of-Commerce Cases

GPR 205-233

PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Sept. 23

Specific PJ: The Arises-Out-Of Requirement
General In Personam Jurisdiction
GPR 233-68
PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Sept. 24

In Rem and Quasi in Rem Jurisdiction

Tagging/Consent

GPR 268-305

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Sept. 25

Long-Arm Statutes

Personal Jurisdiction in Federal Court under FRCP 4(k)

GPR 307-15, 322-25

Fed. R. Civ. P. 4(k)
U.S. Const. Amend. V

PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Sept. 30

Notice and Service

GPR 327-348

 Fed. R. Civ. P. 3; 4(a)-(b); 4(c)(1); 4(c)(2); 4(e); 4(h); 4(l)-(m); 77(a)
 Form 3 (.pdf)

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Oct. 1

State Service

Substituted Service

Service and Personal Jurisdiction

Venue

GPR GPR 359-63 367-384

28 U.S.C. 1391(a)-(d)

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Oct. 2

Challenges to Venue

GPR 385-97, 415-16
PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Oct. 7

History of Pleading

Notice Pleading

Pleading with Particularity

GPR 419-46, 450-53 (don't read Leatherman)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 1, 2, 8(a), 10(a)-(b)
Form 11 (.pdf)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 9(b)

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Oct. 8

Twiqbal

GPR 453-73

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Oct. 9

Default

Responding to a Complaint

GPR 475-86, 496-503, 523-24

Fed. R. Civ. P. 7; 8(b)-(d); 12(a)(1)-(2), (4); 12(b); 12(e)-(h); 55(a)  
PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Oct. 14

No class (Fall Break)


Tues. Oct. 15

No class (Fall Break)

Wed. Oct. 16

Class Cancelled

Mon. Oct. 21

Rule 11

GPR 555-558

Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(d), 11

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Oct. 22

Amending Pleadings/Relation Back

GPR 559-73, 580-89, 601-03 (do sections 10 and 11 on p. 601)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a), 15(c), (d)

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Oct. 23

Joinder

GPR 607-614 (don't read the Hohlbein case and notes 1 and 2), 621-35, 639-46 (don't read the Erkins case)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 13(g)-(h); 14(a)-(b); 18(a); 20(a)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 13(a)-(c)              
PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Oct. 28

Necessary Parties/Intervention
GPR 647-673
Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(a)-(b)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 19(a)-(b)

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Oct. 29

Supplemental Jurisdiction

GPR 729-31, 735-42, 748-59, and 768-72 (do not read the Gibbs, Owen, or Allapattah cases, I think we can get by just with Glannon's discussion of them)

U.S. Const. Art. III, 2, cl. 1
28 U.S.C. 1367

28 USC 1441(c)

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Oct. 30

Scope of Discovery

GPR 775-76, 786-89, 793-821 [don't do Tucker case]

Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)

PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Nov. 4

Discovery Tools

Discovery Control and Abuse

GPR 823-24, 830-41 (don't read Flores, Zubulake), 849-60, 867-69, 871-72, 887-89

Fed. R. Civ . P. 26(a)(3)

Fed. R. Civ . P. 26(g)

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Nov. 5

Dismissal and Summary Judgment

GPR 1003-04, 1013-1032, 1042-43

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(c)-(d), 56

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Nov. 6

Judgment as a Matter of Law

Verdicts
New Trial
Relief from Judgment
GPR 1079-84, 1102-08, 1121-22, 1135-37, 1163-64

PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Nov. 11

Claim Preclusion

1215-31, 1246-47

Selections from the Restatement (Second) of Judgments

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Nov. 12

Exceptions to Claim Preclusion

Privity

Issue Preclusion

GPR 1249-56,1269-74

Selections from the Restatement (Second) of Judgments

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Nov. 13

Exceptions to Issue Preclusion

Selections from the Restatement (Second) of Judgments

Non-Mutual Issue Preclusion
GPR 1274-86

PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Nov. 18

Swift & Erie
GPR 893-916

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Nov. 19

Substance and Procedure under Erie

GPR 917-23, 933-34, 944-57

PP Slides

Notes


Wed. Nov. 20

Substance and Procedure under Erie Cont.

GPR 957-84

PP Slides

Notes


Mon. Nov. 25

Review of Substance and Procedure under Erie

Semtek

PP Slides

Notes


Tues. Nov. 26

Review

PP Slides


Wed. Nov. 27

No class (Thanksgiving Break)



Mon. Dec. 2

Class Cancelled

Tues. Dec. 3

Class Cancelled


Wed. Dec. 4
Class Cancelled

Final Exam Tues. Dec 10
1:30 p.m. Room 119