Syllabus for Civil Procedure
Fall 2017


The class policies are located here.

1) This syllabus is provisional only! Some changes may be made throughout the semester. Make sure that you are looking at the most current version of the syllabus (e.g. by refreshing your browser).

2) You should make use of the links to the specific Federal Rules and statutory and constitutional provisions that are provided in this syllabus (nad on the webpage for the course) when reading these materials for class, because these links give you an edited version that excludes unrelated and unassigned material.

 

The casebook for the course is Glannon, Perlman, Raven-Hasen (GPR), Civil Procedure: A Coursebook (3rd ed. 2017)

 

Mon. Aug. 21

Introduction to Civil Procedure

The Structure of the Federal and State Court Systems

Introduction to Subject Matter Jurisdiction

The Progress of a Civil Suit

The Sources of Procedural Law

GPR pp. 3-38

 

Wed. Aug. 23

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction
GPR pp. 41-59

U.S. Const. Art. III, 2, cl. 1; 28 U.S.C. 1332

 

Thurs. Aug. 24

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction Continued

GPR pp. 59-82

28 U.S.C. 1332(c)(1)

  

Mon. Aug. 28

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction Continued

Federal Question Subject Matter Jurisdiction 

GPR pp. 82-102

U.S. Const. Art. III, 2, cl. 1; 28 U.S.C. 1331

 

Wed. Aug. 30

Federal Question Subject Matter Jurisdiction Continued

GPR 102-125

 

Thurs. Aug. 31

Removal

GPR 127-144

28 U.S.C. 1441(a)-(b), (f) 

28 U.S.C. 1446(c)(2)
28 U.S.C. 1446(a)-(d) 

 

Mon. Sept. 4

Personal Jurisdiction - Pennoyer Framework

GPR 147-164

 U.S. Const. Amend. XIV 1 and Art IV, 1; 28 U.S.C. 1738 

 

Wed. Sept. 6

Personal Jurisdiction - International Shoe

GPR 164-78

 

Thurs. Sept. 7

Specific Personal Jurisdiction

GPR 179-212

 

Mon. Sept. 11

Specific Personal Jurisdiction Continued

GPR 213-248

 

Wed. Sept. 13

General In Personam Jurisdiction

In Rem and Quasi in Rem Jurisdiction

GPR 249-86

 

Thurs. Sept. 14

Tagging

Consent

Long-Arm Statutes

Personal Jurisdiction in Federal Court under FRCP 4(k)

GPR 286-325

Fed. R. Civ. P. 4(k)
U.S. Const. Amend. V 

 

Mon. Sept. 18

Notice and Service

GPR 327-363

 Fed. R. Civ. P. 3; 4(a)-(b); 4(c)(1); 4(c)(2); 4(e); 4(h); 4(l)-(m); 77(a)
 Form 3 (.pdf)

 

Wed. Sept. 20

Venue

GPR 367-384

28 U.S.C. 1391(a)-(d)


 
Thurs. Sept. 21

Challenges to Venue

History of Pleading

Notice Pleading

GPR 385-438

Fed. R. Civ. P. 1, 2, 8(a), 10(a)-(b)
Form 11 (.pdf)

 

Mon. Sept. 24

Notice Pleading

Pleading with Particularity

GPR 438-73

Fed. R. Civ. P. 9(b)

 

Wed. Sept. 26

Responding to a Complaint

GPR 475-524

Fed. R. Civ. P. 7; 8(b)-(d); 12(a)(1)-(2), (4); 12(b); 12(e)-(f); 55(a)    

 

Thurs. Sept. 27

Rule 11

GPR 525-558

Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(d), 11

 

Mon. Oct. 2

Amending Pleadings

GPR 559-603

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a), 15(c), (d)

 

Wed. Oct. 4

Joinder of Claims and Parties

GPR 607-646

Fed. R. Civ. P. 13(g)-(h); 14(a)-(b); 18(a); 20(a)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 13(a)-(c)                

Thurs. Oct. 5
Complex Joinder
GPR 647-683
Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(a)-(b)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 19(a)-(b)

 

Mon. Oct. 9

Supplemental Jurisdiction

GPR 729-757

U.S. Const. Art. III, 2, cl. 1
28 U.S.C. 1367

 

Wed. Oct. 11

Supplemental Jurisdiction Continued

GPR 757-772

28 USC 1441(c)

 

Thurs. Oct. 12

Scope of Discovery

GPR 775-821

Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)

 

Mon. Oct. 16 [break]

 

Wed. Oct. 18

Discovery Tools

GPR 823-869

 

Thurs. Oct. 19

Discovery Control and Abuse

State Law in Federal Courts: Swift

GPR 871-903

 

Mon. Oct. 23

State Law in Federal Court: Erie

GPR 903-931

 

Wed. Oct. 25

Substance and Procedure under Erie

GPR 933-957

 

Thurs. Oct. 26

Substance and Procedure under Erie Continued

GPR 957-984

 

Mon. Oct. 30

Dismissal and Summary Judgment

GPR 1003-1043

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(c)-(d), 56

 

Wed. Nov. 1 [away for conference]

 

Thurs. Nov. 2 [away for conference]

 

Mon. Nov. 6

Judgment as a Matter of Law

New Trial and Relief from Judgment

GPR 1079-1108, 1135-1165

 

Wed. Nov. 8

Appeals

1169-1214

 

Thurs. Nov. 9

Claim Preclusion

1215-1247

 

Mon. Nov. 13

Issue Preclusion

GPR 1249-1274

 

Wed. Nov. 15

Non-Mutual Issue Preclusion

GPR 1274-1286

 

Thurs. Nov. 16

Intersystemic Preclusion

GPR 1286-1292

Semtek


 
Mon. Nov. 20 
 spillover

Wed. Nov. 22 [break]

 
Thurs. Nov. 23 [break]
 

Mon. Nov. 27
 spillover

Wed. Nov. 29 [day off]
 

Thurs. Nov. 30 [day off]