Provisional Syllabus for Civil Procedure
Fall 2017


The class policies are located here.

1) This syllabus is provisional only! Many changes may be made in the reading throughout the semester.  To figure out what the reading for the next day is, look to the website for the course

2) Every week or so I will make an attempt to line up this syllabus with the reading assignments that have actually occurred and my best guess about what we will be able to do for the rest of the semester. 

3) You should make use of the links to the specific Federal Rules and statutory and constitutional provisions that are provided in this syllabus (and on the webpage for the course) when reading these materials for class, because these links give you an edited version that excludes unrelated and unassigned material.

 

The casebook for the course is Glannon, Perlman, Raven-Hasen (GPR), Civil Procedure: A Coursebook (3rd ed. 2017)

 

Mon. Aug. 21

Introduction to Civil Procedure

The Structure of the Federal and State Court Systems

Introduction to Subject Matter Jurisdiction

GPR pp. 3-19

Wed. Aug. 23

The Progress of a Civil Suit

The Sources of Procedural Law

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction: Domicile

GPR 21-38, 41-52

Thurs. Aug. 24

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction
GPR pp. 52-59

U.S. Const. Art. III, 2, cl. 1; 28 U.S.C. 1332

 

Mon. Aug. 28

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction Continued

GPR pp. 59-79

28 U.S.C. 1332(c)(1)

  

Wed. Aug. 30

Diversity Subject Matter Jurisdiction Continued and Federal Question Subject Matter Jurisdiction 

GPR pp. 79-108

U.S. Const. Art. III, 2, cl. 1; 28 U.S.C. 1331

 

Thurs. Aug. 31

Federal Question Continued

GPR 108-125

Standard for Removal

GPR 127-136

28 U.S.C. 1441(a)-(b), (f) 

28 U.S.C. 1446(c)(2)
28 U.S.C. 1446(a)-(d) 

 
Mon. Sept. 4

Procedure for Removal
GPR 136-44
Personal Jurisdiction - Pennoyer Framework
GPR 147-164
First Restatement on Pennoyer
Second Restatement on In Personam, In Rem and Quasi In Rem

 U.S. Const. Amend. XIV 1 and Art IV, 1; 28 U.S.C. 1738 

 

Wed. Sept. 6

Personal Jurisdiction - International Shoe

GPR 164-78

 

Thurs. Sept. 7

Int'l Shoe continued
 

Mon. Sept. 11

Specific Personal Jurisdiction 

GPR 179-205

 

Wed. Sept. 13

Specific Personal Jurisdiction: Stream of Commerce/Internet

GPR 205-243

Thurs. Sept. 14

General In Personam Jurisdiction

GPR 243-68

 

Mon. Sept. 18

In Rem and Quasi in Rem Jurisdiction

GPR 268-86

Tagging/Consent

GPR 286-305

Long-Arm Statutes

GPR 307-15

Wed. Sept. 20

Personal Jurisdiction in Federal Court under FRCP 4(k)

GPR 322-25

Fed. R. Civ. P. 4(k)
U.S. Const. Amend. V 

 

Thurs. Sept. 21

spillover

Mon. Sept. 25

Notice and Service

GPR 327-348

 Fed. R. Civ. P. 3; 4(a)-(b); 4(c)(1); 4(c)(2); 4(e); 4(h); 4(l)-(m); 77(a)
 Form 3 (.pdf)

State Service

Substituted Service

Service and Personal Jurisdiction

GPR 348-63 (skim Baidoo)

Wed. Sept. 27

Venue

GPR 367-384

28 U.S.C. 1391(a)-(d)

Challenges to Venue

GPR 385-416 (skim Piper)

Thurs. Sept. 28

History of Pleading

Notice Pleading

Pleading with Particularity

GPR 419-53

Fed. R. Civ. P. 1, 2, 8(a), 10(a)-(b)
Form 11 (.pdf)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 9(b)

Mon. Oct. 2
Twiqbal

GPR 453-73

Wed. Oct. 4


Default

475-86

Thurs. Oct. 5


Responding to a Complaint

GPR 486-515

Fed. R. Civ. P. 7; 8(b)-(d); 12(a)(1)-(2), (4); 12(b); 12(e)-(h); 55(a)    

Mon. Oct. 9

Responding to a Complaint

GPR 523-524

Wed. Oct. 11

Rule 11

GPR 525-558

Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(d), 11


 

Thurs. Oct. 12

Amending Pleadings/Relation Back

GPR 559-73, 580-89

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a), 15(c), (d)

 

Mon. Oct. 16 [break]

 

Wed. Oct. 18

Relation Back When Adding Parties

GPR 589-603 

Joinder

GPR 607-614 (don't bother reading the Hohlbein case and notes 1 and 2 at all)
GPR 621-46 (just skim the Erkins case - we won't discuss it in detail)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 13(g)-(h); 14(a)-(b); 18(a); 20(a)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 13(a)-(c)              



Thurs. Oct. 19

Complex Joinder
GPR 647-673 (just skim Grutter case - we won't be discussing it in detail)
Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(a)-(b)

Fed. R. Civ. P. 19(a)-(b)


 

Mon. Oct. 23

Supplemental Jurisdiction

GPR 729-757

U.S. Const. Art. III, 2, cl. 1
28 U.S.C. 1367

Supplemental Jurisdiction Continued

GPR 757-772

28 USC 1441(c)

 

Wed. Oct. 25

Scope of Discovery

GPR 775-821

Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)

 

Thurs. Oct. 26

Discovery Tools

GPR 823-860, 867-69

 

Mon. Oct. 30

Discovery Control and Abuse

State Law in Federal Courts: Swift

GPR 871-903

 

Wed. Nov. 1 [away for conference]

 

Thurs. Nov. 2 [away for conference]

 

Mon. Nov. 6

State Law in Federal Court: Erie

GPR 903-931

 

Wed. Nov. 8

Substance and Procedure under Erie

GPR 933-957

 

Thurs. Nov. 9

Substance and Procedure under Erie Continued

GPR 957-984

 

Mon. Nov. 13

Dismissal and Summary Judgment

GPR 1003-1043

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(c)-(d), 56

 

Wed. Nov. 15

Judgment as a Matter of Law

New Trial and Relief from Judgment

GPR 1079-1108, 1135-1165

 

Thurs. Nov. 16

Claim Preclusion

1215-1247

Mon. Nov. 20 

Issue Preclusion

GPR 1249-1274

Wed. Nov. 22 [break]

 
Thurs. Nov. 23 [break]
 

Mon. Nov. 27

Non-Mutual Issue Preclusion

GPR 1274-1286

Intersystemic Preclusion

GPR 1286-1292

Semtek

 

Wed. Nov. 29 

[no class...?]
 

Thurs. Nov. 30 

[no class...?]